Qualifying time in 2000 - Mika Hakkinen - 1:24.714

San Marino GP - Qualifying

Final Result: David Coulthard grabs pole position ahead of Mika Hakkinen. Ralf Schumacher is third ahead of his brother Michael in 4th. Jarno Trulli is 5th ahead of Rubens Barrichello in 6th. Montoya, Panis, Frentzen and Raikkonen make the top 10.

60 min: Coulthard takes pole, Ralf Schumacher takes 3rd and Michael Schumacher has to settle for 4th.

60 min: Trulli in 2nd!

59 min: Michael Schumacher makes a mistake on his first flying lap but has another one to go.

58 min: All the drivers with remaining laps are on the track.

57 min: Olivier Panis moves up into 6th place!

56 min: Michael Schumacher goes out on his final run and so does David Coulthard.

55 min: Kimi Raikkonen takes 10th away from Villeneuve. His team-mate is in 12th place.

54 min: Jacques Villeneuve (10th) fails to improve. 

53 min: Rubens Barrichello moves into 3rd just behind Michael Schumacher.

51 min: Frentzen (7th) fails to improve. Villeneuve and Barrichello out on their final runs.

50 min: Top 10 - Hakkinen, M Schumacher, Coulthard, R Schumacher, Montoya, Trulli, Frentzen, Panis, Villeneuve, Raikkonen

49 min: Heinz Harald Frentzen goes out on his last run.

48 min: Rubens Barrichello is back in 11th place!. Only Marques on track at the moment.

47 min: Michael Schumacher has one run left and so does Mika Hakkinen.

46 min: Mika Hakkinen takes provisional pole with a time of 1:23.381

45 min: Ralf Schumacher jumps to 3rd behind Michael Schumacher and Coulthard.

44 min: Juan Pablo Montoya takes 4th place.

43 min: Montoya and Ralf start their third run.

42 min: Jarno Trulli takes 4th spot ahead of his team-mate.

41 min: David Coulthard moves into 2nd place with a time of 1:24.055

39 min: Kimi Raikkonen moves to 8th with the same time as Juan Pablo Montoya

38 min: Kimi Raikkonen and David Coulthard go out on the track for their 3rd run.

37 min: Top 10 - M Schumacher, Hakkinen, Frentzen, Coulthard, R Schumacher, Villeneuve, Montoya, Barrichello, Panis, Raikkonen

35 min: Frentzen goes to 3rd while Villeneuve splits the two Williams in 5th. 

34 min: Villeneuve (8th) and Frentzen (11th) go out on their third run. 

32 min: It is quiet again. The top 3 drivers have set times faster than last year's pole time so far. 

31 min: Kimi Raikkonen is currently in 9th place. Impressive as this is his first time on this track. 

30 min: Eddie Irvine moves into 12th place. 

29 min: Eddie Irvine goes out on the track hoping to improve from a low 21st place. 

27 min: Top 10 - M Schumacher, Hakkinen, Coulthard, R Schumacher, Montoya, Barrichello, Panis, Villeneuve, Raikkonen and Trulli

26 min: Luciano Burti moves to 15th on his second run. 

24 min: It is quiet now with not much action on the track!

22 min: Jean Alesi is in 13th while his team-mate is in 17th at the moment. Jaguar are struggling with Irvine in 20th and Burti in 22nd!

21 min: Rubens Barrichello improves to 6th while David Coulthard moves into 3rd.

20 min: Michael Schumacher is doing 2 flying laps per run (4 laps including the out and in laps) which means he has one run left. (Maximum of 12 laps allowed)

19 min: David Coulthard and Rubens Barrichello start their 2nd run.

18 min: Top 10 - M Schumacher, Hakkinen, R Schumacher, Montoya, Panis, Coulthard, Barrichello, Villeneuve, Raikkonen and Trulli

17 min: Michael Schumacher improves to 1:23.674 while Juan Pablo Montoya is 3rd with a time of 1:24.788.

16 min: Oliver Panis moves into 3rd with a time of 1:24.957

15 min: Michael Schumacher takes provisional pole again with a time of 1:23.749. That is almost a second faster than last year.

14 min: Jarno Trulli moves into 4th place with a time of 1:25.398. Michael Schumacher goes out on his second run.

14 min: Mika Hakkinen takes provisional pole with a time of 1:24.222. That is faster than last year's pole.

13 min: All the drivers have set lap times. It will be interesting to see who will come out for their second run next?

12 min: Top 10 - Coulthard, Barrichello, Hakkinen, Villeneuve, Frentzen, M Schumacher, R Schumacher, Panis, Heidfeld and Trulli.

10 min: David Coulthard grabs provisional pole with a time of 1:25.014.

9 min: Jacques Villeneuve moves into 3rd behind Barrichello and Hakkinen. Coulthard on track.

8 min: Villeneuve, Coulthard and Irvine have yet to set a time.

7 min: The order is changing by the minute. Top 6 - Barrichello, Hakkinen, Frentzen, M Schumacher, R Schumacher and Panis

6 min: Rubens Barrichello and Mika Hakkinen take the top 2 spots. 

5 min: Michael Schumacher stays out and improves his time. He is 3rd.

4 min: Heinz Harald Frentzen takes first spot with a time of 1:25.916 ahead of Rubens Barrichello and Ralf Schumacher!

3 min: Michael Schumacher takes provisional pole with a time of 1:27.000 followed by Jarno Trulli and Juan Pablo Montoya.

2 min: The whole field has gone out with the exception of Coulthard, Villeneuve and Bernoldi!

1 min: Juan Pablo Montoya and Michael Schumacher got out followed by Giancarlo Fisichella and Tarso Marques.

Session underway and with the threat of rain, we could see some drivers go out early in the session.

Ralf Schumacher was the highest Michelin runner in 7th while Juan Pablo Montoya struggled today and ended up in 12th place. It seems that the Michelin tyres are not suited for cold temperatures. Session starts in 5 minutes.

Michael Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello dominated the two morning sessions. They were run under damp conditions and the drivers used full wet and intermediate tyres. Qualifying though will run on a dry track but it could still rain as there are some dark clouds over the track. Session starts in 10 minutes.

Session starting in 15 minutes. The temperature has gone up to 11 degrees and the track is dry. Qualifying will be run under different conditions than the 2 practice sessions this morning.